SSC CGL Syllabus And Exam Pattern 2022


Check SSC CGL Syllabus and Exam Pattern 2021 as given below in element. The SSC CGL (Combined Graduate Level) Exam is carried out every year by the Staff Selection Commission (SSC) is composed of 4 levels, where every section wishes to be cleared relying upon the requirement of other posts. SSC CGL Exam will be carried out in 4 tiers, ie, Tier – I, Tier – II, Tier – III, and Tier – IV as proven below in the desk. Check SSC CGL Syllabus for all the Tiers as given below.

SSC CGL Syllabus and Exam Pattern for Tier I, II, III, IV

SSC CGL Syllabus and Exam Pattern
Tier Type of Exam Mode of Exam
Tier-I Objective Multiple Choice Computer-Based (Online)
Tier-II Objective Multiple Choice Computer-Based (Online)
Tier-III Descriptive Paper in English or Hindi Pen and Paper mode (Offline)
Tier-IV Skill Test: Data Entry Speed ​​Test (DEST)/ Computer Proficiency Test (CPT) Wherever Applicable (Not necessary for all the posts)
DV Applicable for All

(*5*)SSC CGL 2020 Exam Details

In the previous few years, SSC has made some changes in the exam pattern. Students must make notice of changes in exam pattern and syllabus before starting the SSC CGL exam preparation. Below are some important issues to take notice of:

  • Tier –I purpose exam will be of 60 mins length in online mode,
  • Tier –II purpose exam will consist of 4 papers, every paper will be of 2 hours length in online mode.
  • Tier – III descriptive exam will be of 60 mins length in pen and paper mode,
  • There will be no sectional cut-off,

SSC CGL Syllabus (Tier-I) and Exam Pattern

SSC CGL Tier-I exam is an purpose exam that will be carried out online, The exam accommodates 4 sections having 100 questions (25 questions in every section) which will account for a general of 200 marks (most 50 marks in every section). The time length of the Tier-1 exam will be 60 mins.

Section Questions Marks
Quantitative Aptitude 25 50
English Comprehension 25 50
General Intelligence & Reasoning 25 50
General Awareness 25 50
TOTAL 100 200

Points to take into accout:

  • There is a negative marking in SSC CGL Tier 1 Exam. 0.5 marks will be deducted from every query that is tried improper by a candidate in all the sections.
  • The exam length is 80 mins for candidates who are visually handicapped and struggling from Cerebral Palsy.

After going through the above-mentioned exam pattern of the SSC CGL Exam, the next step is to analyze the topic-wise syllabus of all the 4 sections of the SSC CGL Tier-I Exam:

SSC CGL Syllabus for Tier I Online/ CBT Exam

General Intelligence and Reasoning: It would come with questions of both verbal and non-verbal sorts. This part may come with questions on analogies, similarities and variations, spatial visualization, spatial orientation, problem-solving, research, judgment, choice making, visible reminiscence, discrimination, remark, courting ideas, arithmetical reasoning and figural classification, mathematics number collection, non -verbal collection, coding and interpreting, observation conclusion, syllogistic reasoning, and many others.

General Awareness: Questions in this part will be aimed at checking out the candidate’s general consciousness of the atmosphere round him and its application to society. Questions will also be designed to test wisdom of current events and of such issues of everyday observations and enjoy in their medical side as may be expected of any trained particular person. The test will also come with questions relating to India and its neighboring nations particularly pertaining to sports activities, History, Culture, Geography, Economic Scene, General Polity, Indian Constitution, medical Research, and many others. These Questions will be such that they do not require a particular find out about of any self-discipline

Quantitative Aptitude (Maths): The questions will be designed to test the skill of suitable use of numbers and number sense of the candidate. The scope of the test will be the computation of whole numbers, decimals and fractions, and relationships between numbers. It will test sense of order amongst numbers, skill to translate from one title to another, sense or order of magnitude, estimation or prediction of the end result of computation, selection of an suitable operation for the resolution of real-life problems, and wisdom of choice computation procedures to in finding solutions. The questions would also be primarily based on arithmetical ideas and relationships between numbers and not on difficult arithmetical computation (The same old of the questions will be of 10+2 degree).

English Language & Comprehension: Reading Comprehension, Fill in the Blanks, Spellings, Idioms & Phrases, One Word Substitution, Sentence Correction, Error Spotting, Synonyms, Antonyms. Candidates’ skill to perceive right kind English, his fundamental comprehension and writing skill, and many others. would be examined

Click Here to Check SSC CGL Previous Year Papers

SSC CGL Syllabus (Tier-II) and Exam Pattern

SSC CGL 2022 Tier 2 Exam Pattern

SSC CGL Syllabus (Tier – III) and Exam Pattern

SSC CGL Tier – III Exam is a descriptive paper that will be taken offline by means of pen and paper mode, In this exam, candidates’ language talent, grammar wisdom, vocabulary utilization, and writing abilities will be examined in English/Hindi, Candidates are required to write essays, summary, packages, letters, and many others. in 60 mins,

Mode of Examination


Maximum Marks


Pen and Paper Mode

Descriptive Type Paper in English or Hindi

(Writing of Essay/ Précis/ Letter/ Application and many others.)


60 Minutes

The easiest approach to prepare for this tier is to read rather a lot of articles from various newspapers. Apart from this, you need to be well mindful of the pattern of Letters and Applications.

SSC CGL Syllabus (Tier–IV) Exam Pattern and

The SSC CGL Tier – IV Exam accommodates a couple of ability tests that are required for certain government posts and report verification procedures:

  1. DEST (Data Entry Speed ​​Test) for the put up of Tax Assistants (Central Excise & Income Tax).
  2. CPT (Computer Proficiency Test) for the put up of Assistant Section Officer of Central Secretariat Service (CSS), Assistant Section Officer (MEA), Assistant in Serious Fraud Investigation Office (SFIO) under the Ministry of Corporate Affairs and Assistant (GSI) in the Ministry of Mines.
  3. Document Verification: The last step to the ultimate selection would be Document Verification.

Important Links

Join Telegram Group for all the latest updates of Govt Jobs

Visit SSC Official Website

Download SSC CGL Syllabus and Exam Pattern PDF

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

How to download the SSC CGL Syllabus from the Official Website?

1. Visit
2. In the Menu bar, Click on ‘Candidates Corner’
3. Then Click on ‘Syllabus’
4. Here you can in finding the Syllabus of Various SSC Exam Official Syllabus.

What is the Exam Pattern of SSC CGL Exam?

The detailed Exam Pattern of SSC CGL is given in this article.

What is the Syllabus of SSC CGL Online Exam?

The detailed syllabus of SSC CGL Exam is given in this article along with the Syllabus PDF.

Does SSC ask questions from the Syllabus given for it?

Yes, the Staff Selection Commission asks questions from the Official Syllabus given in this article.

For more put up visit our site

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.